Embassy of the Republic of Angola - Belgrade, Serbia

Government of Angola

Country name: Republic of Angola (Republica de Angola)

Government type: republic; multiparty presidential regime

Capital: Luanda

Administrative divisions: 18 provinces (provincias); Bengo, Benguela, Bie, Cabinda, Cuando Cubango, Cuanza Norte, Cuanza Sul, Cunene, Huambo, Huila, Luanda, Lunda Norte, Lunda Sul, Malanje, Moxico, Namibe, Uige, Zaire

Independence: 11 November 1975 (from Portugal)

Constitution: latest passed by National Assembly 21 January 2010, adopted 5 February 2010

Legal system: based on Portuguese civil law system and customary law; recently modified to accommodate political pluralism and increased use of free markets

Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal

Executive branch: chief of state: President Joao Manuel Goncalves LOURENCO (since 26 September 2017); Vice President Bornito De Sousa Baltazar DIOGO (since 26 September 2017); note – the president is both chief of state and head of government

cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president

elections: elections/appointments: the candidate of the winning party or coalition in the last legislative election becomes the president; president serves a 5-year term (eligible for a second consecutive or discontinuous term); last held on 23 August 2017 (next to be held in 2022)

Legislative branch: unicameral National Assembly or Assembleia Nacional (220 seats; members elected by proportional vote to serve five-year terms)

Judicial branch: Supreme Court and separate provincial courts (judges are appointed by the president)

Political parties and leaders: Broad Convergence for the Salvation of Angola Electoral Coalition or CASA-CE [Andre Mendes de CARVALHO]; National Front for the Liberation of Angola or FNLA [Holden ROBERTO]; National Union for the Total Independence of Angola or UNITA [Isaias SAMAKUVA] (largest opposition party); Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola or MPLA [Joao Manuel Goncalves LOURENCO] (ruling party in power since 1975); Social Renewal Party or PRS [Benedito DANIEL] and other small parties.

Click the following link for more information:

Republic of Angola – Government